Medication Administration in the School Setting

Medication Policy

The Needham Public Schools Medication Policy complies with state guidelines for medication administration and has been put in place to provide for the health and safety of students requiring medication administration during the school day. The following statements highlight the main points of the policy.  The entire policy is available for review in each school health office.

The school nurse is responsible for the administration of all medication, as required by Massachusetts General Law, Chapter 94C. When a child needs a medication during the school day, we ask that parents/guardians please act promptly to follow this policy, so that the medicine can be administered as soon as possible.

The medication permission form must be completed in ink and be on file in the Health Office before any medication is administered.

  • All medications, prescription, or over the counter medications, require a physician’s order and completed parental permission form, or the medication cannot be given.
  • All medication orders expire at the end of the school year. Medication orders must be renewed at the beginning of each school year.
  • Non-prescription medication (over-the-counter) will be handled the same way as prescription medication.
  • Whenever possible, medication administration should be scheduled at times other than during school hours.
  • All medication must be delivered to the Health Office by the student’s parent/guardian, or a designated adult.
  • Students are not permitted to bring medications to school.
  • Only a thirty (30) day supply of medication will be accepted at any time.
  • All medication must be delivered in a correctly labeled pharmacy or manufacturer’s medication container.  (Medications are not accepted in containers such as plastic bags.)
  • The pharmacy-labeled container can be used in lieu of a physician’s order only in the case of short-term medications, i.e., those medications to be given for ten(10) school days or less. If the school nurse has a question about the medication, she/he may request a licensed prescriber’s order.
  • Self-medication may be allowed under certain circumstances after consultation with the school nurse, and with the completion of required authorization forms by both a student's parent/guardian and prescribing physician.  
  • If a medication needs to be given during a school sponsored event such as a field trip, the school nurse must be contacted in advance in order to allow time   to make special arrangements prior to the outing.
  • A parent may retrieve the medicine from the school at any time.
  • All medications must be picked up by a parent/guardian, before the close of the school year.  Any medications that are not picked up by the close of school will be destroyed.
























































































Director of School Health Services
Barbara Singer MSN, RN, NCSN
1155 Central Ave.
Needham, MA 02492
781-455-0416, x 382
Fax 781-453-5607
barbara_singer@needham.k12.ma.us
School Physician
Alan Stern, MD
School Nurses
Needham High School
Livia Rizzo BSN, RN
781-455-0800 x 2123
Fax 781-453-5609
livia_rizzo@needham.k12.ma.us
Jackie Kiley MS, RN
781-455-0800 x 2123
Fax 781-453-5609
jackie_kiley@needham.k12.ma.us
Lisa Austin MS, RN, NCSN
781-455-0800 x 2137
Fax 781-453-5609
lisa_austin@needham.k12.ma.us
Pollard Middle School
Rosemary Leone BSN, RN, NCSN
781-455-0480 x238
Fax 781-453-5608
rosemary_leone@needham.k12.ma.us
Debbie Brennan BSN, RN
781-455-0480 x238
Fax 781-453-5608
debbie_brennan@needham.k12.ma.us
High Rock School
Carol Freedman BSN, RN, NCSN
781 455-0455, Ext. 258
carol_freedman@needham.k12.ma.us
Broadmeadow Elementary School
MaryBeth Arigo MSN, RN, CPNP
781-455-0448
Fax 781-453-2512
marybeth_arigo@needham.k12.ma.us
Eliot Elementary School
Patricia Flueckiger M.Ed, BSN, RN, NCSN
781-455-0452 x341
Fax 781-453-5603
patricia_flueckiger@needham.k12.ma.us
Hillside Elementary School
Debbie Greiff M.Ed, BSN, RN
781-455-0461 x228
Fax 781-453-5605
debbie_greiff@needham.k12.ma.us
Mitchell Elementary School
Sheila Eisenstadt MSW, BSN, BA, RN
781-455-0870
Fax 781-453-5606
sheila_eisenstadt@needham.k12.ma.us
Newman Elementary School
Elaine Tenaglia M.Ed, BSN, RN
781-455-0416 x 379
Fax 781-453-5607
elaine_tenaglia@needham.k12.ma.us
Preschool
Nancy Solari MSN, RN
781-455-0416 x 138
Fax 781-453-5607
nancy_solari@needham.k12.ma.us