Hand Sanitizer Opt-Out Letter

Dear Parents/Guardians,

 

Hand washing is one of the most effective ways to prevent COVID-19 and other illnesses, and when your students return to school, they will be asked to wash their hands throughout the school day to help keep themselves and others healthy.  Hand washing is the preferred method for removing germs however, soap and water is not always readily available.  When hand washing is not possible, students will be asked to use hand sanitizer at school; alcohol based hand sanitizers work by killing certain germs that “sit” on the skin.  

 

Hand sanitizers are considered to be over the counter (OTC) medications.  This letter is to notify you that you have the ability to opt your child out of using hand sanitizer at school.   If you DO NOTwant your child to use hand sanitizer during the school day, please email or send a paper copy of the sentence below to your child’s school nurse:

 

I do not want my child, (insert child’s name), to use hand sanitizer during the school day. 

 

If you consent to having your student use hand sanitizer at school, no further action is necessary.  

 

Sincerely,

 

Barbara Singer MSN, RN, NCSN

Director of School Health Services

 

Broadmeadow Elementary School-Mary Beth Arigo:  marybeth_arigo@needham.k12.ma.us

Eliot Elementary School- Kerry Bickford:  kerry_bickford@needham.k12.ma.us

Mitchell Elementary School- Sheila Eisenstadt:   sheila_Eisenstadt@needham.k12.ma.us

Newman Elementary School-Jessica Casserly: jessica_casserly@needham.k12.ma.us

Preschool at Newman- Kathryn Wilk:kate_wilk@needham.k12.ma.us

Sunita Williams Elementary School-Debbie Greiff:   debbie_greiff@needham.k12.ma.us

High Rock School-Dana Sullivan:  dana_sullivan@needham.k12.ma.us

Pollard Middle School-Rosemary Leone/Debbie Brennan:  rosemary_leone@needham.k12.ma.usdebbie_brennan@needham.k12.ma.us

Needham High School-Lisa Austin/Livia Rizzo/Jackie Kiley:

lisa_austin@needham.k12.ma.uslivia_rizzo@needham.k12.ma.us,jackie_kiley@needham.k12.ma.us

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2020 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.